Why “All About That Bass” should be Song Of The Year

Unless you’re living Ron Swanson level off the grid, I’m sure you’ve heard the summer 2014 hit “All About The Bass” by 20-year-old- Meghan Trainor.  BillboardWith a mash up of  50’s Do-Wop melodies and, of course, heavy bass, “All About That Bass ” has more than 200 million views on YouTube and reached #1 on Billboards Hot 100 chart in September.

It wasn’t until hearing the song a few times did I really start to break down its messsage. Women today, myself included, are constantly barraged with the unattainable and often altered images of beauty.  With standards set so high, how are we ever supposed to feel “good enough” about the size we are?  

Before I really listened to the lyrics of the song, I was only getting it’s surface message, she’s all about that bass.  Ok, who doesn’t love a good, heavy bass now and then? But really, a song without any treble doesn’t sound that appealing, as you can see in this video, originally posted on Vox in September.

In all reality, “All About That Bass” is the confidence boosting anthem of 2014, and here’s why:

She has no qualms about her size!

How many times have you or a friend said, “take the picture this way, I don’t want you to get my belly!”

Yeah, it’s pretty clear, I ain’t no size two
But I can shake it, shake it
Like I’m supposed to do
‘Cause I got that boom boom that all the boys chase
And all the right junk in all the right places

She IS the pineapple!

When I was about 14 I realized that I also am a pineapple.  What’s that mean you may ask?  My favorite fruit is pineapple. Juicy, sweet, pineapple.  I could eat that shit everyday and not get tired of it.  But did you know some people don’t even like pineapple? Can’t stand the stuff, but does that make pineapple any less delicious for me? Hell no!  I know how awesome it is, and just because someone likes bananas or apples better, doesn’t make the pineapple any less great! Trainor may not call herself a pineapple but here are some exurbs from the song that give the same idea.

You know I won’t be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll
So if that’s what you’re into then go ahead and move along

I’m bringing booty back
Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that

and my favorite line…

Yeah, my mama she told me don’t worry about your size
She says, “Boys like a little more booty to hold at night.”

Make no comparisons, she’s the real thing

If there is one thing Trainor’s song pushes is there is no reason to compare yourself to the runway models or the actors on the movie screen:

I see the magazine workin’ that Photoshop
We know that shit ain’t real
C’mon now, make it stop

Comparison is the thief of joy! As soon as you start the “if I was his/her size” “if I looked like them” you stop loving YOU!

Leave a Reply

