How many donuts does it take?

How many donuts is the appropriate number to eat in one day? I’m sure the answer SHOULD be less than or equal to zero…not an entire bag. You can’t see, but I’m hanging my head in a sugar fueled shame. To say that my diet/workout routine has slacked would be an understatement. Maybe I should back up and explain why I haven’t posted in four weeks:

May 3: I GRADUATED FROM COLLEGE! This has been five hard years in the making but I am incredibly proud of myself. No, I did not graduate with honors.  No, I don’t heave a “real” job lined up but that’s alright. For now at least. I’m starting to bartend at work and I was recently asked if I would be a freelance writer for Cox Media! The opportunity for experience and growth here are thrilling.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 24:  Graduation gift from my mom: tickets to see The Book of Mormon. Possibly the highlight of my summer.  Absolute and unadulterated humor.  I’m still laughing.  Hasa Diga Eebowai.

Book of Mormon

May 28-June 6:  My best friend of 12+ years and I (after both graduating) spent a week together in Fort Meyers, Florida. The weather was perfect 4/7 days. We took the opportunity to visit Fort Meyers Beach and Sanibel Island. It was a great respite from everything going on.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Since graduation I’ve been consistently working 5-6 days per week. Which is why I have had zero time for (or I should say, made zero time for)  Jiu Jitsu, and haven’t made time to keep with my workout and diet plan.

Graduating has given me a new perspective on things. Over the last five years I’ve met some amazing people and been given the opportunity to do great things. But I’ve also lost a lot. Some things were out of my control while other, well, the fault lies completely on my shoulders.

Starting today it’s less eating out or not at all and more meal prep. Less beer and more fruits and vegetables. Less all night partying and more morning Jiu Jitsu classes. I’ve lost the things that made me truly the happiest, now I’m taking back what I can control and becoming the healthy, happy person I’m dying to stay.


Yesterday, I used my day off to meal prep a little for the busy week ahead.  I made this DELICIOUS chick pea salad!  I’ve had people ask me for the “recipe,” which is funny because if you’ve ever cooked with me, you’ll notice I rarely measure things out.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 can chick peas/garbanzo beans
  • Cilantro
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1/2 bag of frozen corn, blackened on the stove top
  • 1 roma tomato
  • 1/2 avacado
  • squeeze of lemon
  • Eat with tortillas like salsa or with a fork!

I topped this with feta cheese, well, because I could damnit.  I also like to eat this with shredded chicken added to make less of a salsa salad and more of a fancy chicken salad.

Leave a Reply

